Lost in "Gimmegate" and the question of sportsmanship is basic Rule (2-4) of whether Suzann Peterssen could have retroactively given Alison Lee the putt on the 17th hole of the fourball match on Sunday morning in the Solheim Cup. According to Decision 2-4/3, the answer is no, at least not without Lee receiving a one-stroke penalty for lifting her ball without marking it. But in a show of sportsmanship, the Euros could have conceded the 18th hole resulting in a drawn match. Since most of all us play match play 99 percent of the time, it's worth reviewing the following:
• A player may concede their opponent's next stroke at any time, provided the opponent's ball is at rest. The opponent is considered to have holed out with their next stroke, and the ball may be removed by either side.
• A concession may not be declined or withdrawn under any circumstances.
• In a four-ball or foursome, either partner may make the concession.
• No-one else has the authority to make a concession (e.g., a caddie, team captain or spectator).
• If a player makes a statement (note, not an action) that could reasonably have led their opponent to think their next stroke had been conceded, in equity (Rule 1-4), the opponent should replace their ball as near as possible to where it lay, without penalty.
Sep 24, 2015 | 08:29 am
Sep 23, 2015 | 01:01 pm
Sep 22, 2015 | 09:52 am
Sep 21, 2015 | 06:23 am