Clicky




Sep 24, 2015 | 08:29 am

Gimme Shelter

Lost in "Gimmegate" and the question of sportsmanship is basic Rule (2-4) of whether Suzann Peterssen could have retroactively given Alison Lee the putt on the 17th hole of the fourball match on Sunday morning in the Solheim Cup. According to Decision 2-4/3, the answer is no, at least not without Lee receiving a one-stroke penalty for lifting her ball without marking it. But in a show of sportsmanship, the Euros could have conceded the 18th hole resulting in a drawn match. Since most of all us play match play 99 percent of the time, it's worth reviewing the following:

•    A player may concede their opponent's next stroke at any time, provided the opponent's ball is at rest. The opponent is considered to have holed out with their next stroke, and the ball may be removed by either side.
•    A concession may not be declined or withdrawn under any circumstances.
•    In a four-ball or foursome, either partner may make the concession.
•    No-one else has the authority to make a concession (e.g., a caddie, team captain or spectator).
•    If a player makes a statement (note, not an action) that could reasonably have led their opponent to think their next stroke had been conceded, in equity (Rule 1-4), the opponent should replace their ball as near as possible to where it lay, without penalty.

Share |



Sep 23, 2015 | 01:01 pm

Taking Care of No. 1

Pine Valley hosted the 91st Crump Cup this past weekend, the premier mid-am event in the country. Carlton Forrester of Atlanta came away with a two-up victory over Arnie Cutrell of Greensburg, Pa. after winning the last four holes on Sunday. Why should you care? Well, Sunday of the Crump Cup, named after the hotelier and amateur architect who built the course, is the only time you can see consensus No. 1 course in the world without an invite from a member. Anyone who pays the $25 parking fee at the Clementon Elementary School can take the shuttle and attend the final match in the afternoon. Typically, there are only a few hundred spectators, so you don't have to worry about not getting in. If you've always dreamed of getting on Pine Valley, mark it in your calendars now to be there next year on Sunday Oct. 2. The club hasn't released the 2016 dates yet, but they typically hold the event at the same time as the Ryder Cup.

Share |



Sep 22, 2015 | 09:52 am

Sad History

“Gimmegate”—Suzanne Pettersen’s refusal to concede a pivotal putt during last weekend's Solheim Cup—sadly is just the most recent in a history of instances of bad sportsmanship during the past two decades or so of international team competition. Consider: 1993: Ryder Cup Captain Tom Watson, at a dinner prior to the matches, refuses to the sign the dinner program of his opposite captain Sam Torrance; 1989: Captain Ray Floyd introduces his U.S. team as the "12 best players in the world”; 1991: Seve Ballesteros audibly coughs as Paul Azinger plays a shot, prompting Azinger to brand him “the king of gamesmanship" and Seve to refer to Team USA as “11 nice guys plus Azinger”; 1999: after Justin Leonard sinks a seagoing birdie putt on the 17th green of The Country Club, American players trample the green in premature celebration, with Leonard’s opponent Jose-Maria Olazabal still having a putt to tie (the same year Colin Montgomerie, arguably the real hero of the matches, suffered a torrent of verbal abuse by fans and Mark O’Meara, David Duval, and Tiger Woods hinted they’d like to be paid to play in the Ryder Cup);  2000: Annika Sorenstam holes a chip shot during the Solheim Cup and America’s Kelly Robbins makes her replay it because Sorenstam has hit out of turn; 2007: NBC announcer and former LPGA player Dottie Pepper, unaware that her microphone is open, calls two of the American Solheim Cup players “choking freaking dogs”;  2014: In the post-mortem press conference, Phil Mickelson throws his captain Tom Watson under the bus. It all suggests that we’ve begun to take these matches—intended to foster international good will—a bit too seriously. Better to remember 46 years ago when Jack Nicklaus conceded that 18th hole putt—twice the length of the one Pettersen refused to concede--to Tony Jacklin, allowing the 1969 Ryder Cup to finish in a tie. 

Share |



Sep 21, 2015 | 06:23 am

Keeping Up With Jones

No matter who you think the best golfer is today, the list of best all time must include Robert Tyre “Bobby” Jones, who won 13 major championships—including the "Grand Slam"—between 1923 and 1930 (when the majors were the U.S. and British Open and Amateurs), created Augusta National and The Masters, and was one of the most popular sports figures of his day. Through the end of November, an exhibit of Jones artifacts is on display at Emory University in Atlanta, where, according to PGA.com, Dr. Robert Tyre Jones IV recently attributed his grandfather’s greatness to three key factors. First, Bobby “believed a golf tournament was won or lost before the first ball had even been struck,” Dr. Jones said. Second, he stayed in the moment, something Jones was so good at, his grandson said, that sometimes Bobby had no memory of a shot after he’d hit it. And third, he played the course, not the competitors. Other facts about Jones, according to his descendant: He didn’t eat solid food until he was five, he played his first tournament at age 6 and won a small silver cup that he kept the rest of his life, and from 1916 until 1930 he never lost in match play to the same opponent twice.

Share |


Loading
The Virginian Golf Club
Premier Properties Guide


Follow Links Magazine