5 Myths About The Rules

1. IN MATCH PLAY, WHEN IN DOUBT, PLAY A SECOND BALL
Playing a second ball is only allowed in stroke play (Rule 3-3). If you and your opponent have a dispute about a situation or Rule, do what you think is allowed under the Rules and if your opponent disagrees, he can make a timely claim (Rule 2-5).

2. YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A GOOD LIE IN THE FAIRWAY
Breaks both good and bad are part of what makes golf such a great game, and each must be accepted when they arise. For every bad lie you get in the fairway, at some point you’ll get a good lie in the rough, but no one complains about a good break!

3. “EQUITY” MEANS THE RULES ALWAYS TREAT ME FAIRLY
A commonly misunderstood and misused term, “equity” (Rule 1-4) does not ensure that the Rules guarantee all situations receive a fair or just outcome. Instead, it is meant to ensure that like situations are treated alike and similar situations receive the same treatment.

4. AN INFRACTION IN MATCH PLAY ALWAYS RESULTS IN LOSS OF HOLE
The “general penalty” (loss of hole) is meant to deter a player from gaining an indefinite advantage, but a breach of the Rules doesn’t automatically result in loss of hole. There are many Rules that prescribe one-stroke penalties in match play, including accidentally moving your ball, hitting your equipment with your ball, or hitting into a water hazard.

5. A “RUB OF THE GREEN” IS A BAD BREAK
While playing golf results in a fair amount of misfortune, a “rub of the green” actually occurs whenever a ball in motion is accidentally deflected or stopped by an outside agency, such as a yardage post or sprinkler head. Sometimes it results in bad luck, but it could be good luck.

You might also like